My Inspirations and Why I Chose Conspiracy Theories

Hi. it’s been awhile, hasn’t it? A long while, I suppose. That’s my bad, I’ve been far too busy with a lot of other things. But that’s not what this post is about, is it? You read the title, this post is about my inspiration and why i decided to do blog posts about conspiracy theories and unsolved mysteries. I have been obsessed with video essays and theories ever since I started watching a youtube channel by the name of Game Theory, which was probably 10 or so years ago. Game Theory, or more accurately, MatPat, the man behind the channel, is what got me into theorizing and looking into the finer details. One of my favorite videos of his is the theory about the Mario character Rosalina, and how she might be the child of Luigi and Princess Peach. This theory is very out there, yes, but it is what inspired me to begin looking at things with a critical eye, its what made me start to see details that others wouldn’t or couldn’t. Nowadays when I play games or watch films, I constantly look for connections and odd little easter eggs that developers/filmmakers added in there for either fun or to add to the lore of the game/film. MatPat has been apart of my life for longer than I would care to admit, and now that he’s retiring, if feels bittersweet. He deserves to retire from being at the head of the theorists, he has been the leader and main creator for over 12 years. But enough about MatPat. He is an amazing person and I hope he continues to do what he loves, but he isn’t the only reason I like to theorize and analyze.

Wendigoon, or Isaiah, (but i wont be calling him that because i think its weird) is a long-form video essay creator on youtube. He covers everything from the JFK assassination conspiracy, to internet ARGs like The Mandela Catelogue and the Hypnogogic Archives. Sure, his videos are long, longer than most people’s attention span, he presents his information in a way that’s fun and engaging (i mean, you gotta get that youtube engagement somehow, its hard to do long form content on the internet nowadays). He adds anecdotes and makes the content more accessible to those that don’t want to figure this stuff out for themselves, because these sorts of things can become quite convoluted and difficult to understand (take Five Nights at Freddy’s as an example, the whole story was compiled through several years of games, books, and input from the creator himself) he makes it easy to consume these confusing stories and makes it entertaining. One of my favorite videos of his is his analysis of The Mystery Flesh Pit ARG, which is about a national park that centered around this giant super-organism that is underground in Texas. It’s one of his shorter videos, at about an hour and 15 minutes, but its astounding how much information he can give while still being entertaining (the video link is here if you want to watch it- its very good)
Anyways, thanks for letting me ramble about my favorite content creators. It’s a little break from my usual posts, but it’s a post nonetheless 🙂



Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started